#foundationstruggles

Being a typical redhead I’ve extremely pale skin.  Trying to find a suitable foundation that doesn’t make me look like I’ve been tangoed, or like a corpse, has been a struggle. However in the last 6 months I’ve had much more luck!  After a somewhat demoralising realisation that Clinique’s palest shade ‘Alabaster’ could no longer be my match, I went on a spree to find ‘the one’.

In my teenage years and early 20’s I had some rather intense acne which has left a not insignificant amount of scars on my face.  This means when looking for a foundation I tend to look for a minimum of a medium coverage, but do one day dream that a tinted moisturiser will be sufficient for my coverage needs.

I haven’t found the one… I have found THREE foundations! Three!!

IMG_2302

MAC Studio Fix Fluid – Shade NW13

I’ve got cool undertones in my skin making me a NW rather than NC in MAC.  This is quite a full coverage foundation and even I found this meant that the lightest shade (NW11) looked too pale on me (shock!).  I use this foundation on my bad skin days as the coverage is quite heavy.  It doesnt sit in my pores and stays put all day which is perfect. The SPF in this is pretty low at 15 so make sure to wear a sunscreen underneath.

DIORSKIN Star liquid foundation – Shade 010 Ivory

This is my everyday saviour foundation! I use the lightest shade.  This is a brightening foundation but leaves your skin looking matte, not oily.  This has a light coverage which is buildable, high SPF (30!) and blends perfectly. Will use always and forever #newbff DIOR know what they are doing on this one.

 

DIORSKIN Nude Air Serum – Shade 010 Ivory

Another DIOR product.. but worth it!  This was more of an impulse purchase – I was having a good skin day and wanted to look for a foundation with a very light coverage, but that would still give me some skincare benefits.  This foundation is a serum containing cranberry oil, and comes in the cutest dropper bottle!  This really is a weightless foundation, goes on very sheer, but give you that extra glow and coverage if like me, you aren’t ready for the world to see your natural skin.

Leave a Reply

